Metropolis

21st National Metropolis Conference

Doing Immigration Differently

March 21th - 23th 2019

Halifax Convention Centre

Halifax
Doing Immigration Differently
Information

21ST METROPOLIS CANADA CONFERENCE SUMMARY


DOING IMMIGRATION DIFFERENTLY



MARCH 21-23, 2019


Halifax Convention Centre
1650 Argyle Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia



To view and download the submitted 2019 Metropolis Conference presentations  




Conference Co-Chairs



Jennifer Watts, 
CEO, Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia (ISANS), Halifax, Nova Scotia


Professor Howard Ramos, 
Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology / Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia









The Honourable Lena Metlege Diab, 
Q.C., ECNS, Minister of Immigration, Minister of Acadian Affairs & Francophonie, Government of Nova Scotia

Ms. Diab was first elected in 2013 to the Provincial Assembly representing Halifax Armdale, and appointed to Executive Council of Nova Scotia as the first female Attorney General and Minister of Justice as well as Minister of Immigration. In July 2015, the Immigration portfolio became her exclusive cabinet position. She was re-elected to the Legislature on May 30, 2017 and was appointed both Minister of Immigration, and Minister of Acadian Affairs and Francophonie. 

Ms. Diab is passionate about making Nova Scotia more diverse. Under her leadership, the province has welcomed more immigrants, strengthened its immigration program, and built global networks. 

She is the daughter of Lebanese immigrants to Canada and the eldest of six children. Born in Nova Scotia, she was raised in Lebanon for 8 years, and returned to Halifax in the face of civil war at the age of 11.

Prior to entering politics, she led a successful legal career for over 20 years. Her educational background includes a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Political Science, a Masters of Public Administration and a law degree. In 2018, she was appointed the Queen’s Counsel designation— the appointment is awarded to members of the legal profession to recognize exceptional merit and outstanding contributions to the legal community.

Ms. Diab has received numerous honours and accolades, including: the Lebanese Chamber of Commerce in NS Professional Award, the prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, the Progress Women of Excellence Award, and the Canadian Council of Ambassadors of the Arab League Award. 



Mike Savage, 
Mayor of the Halifax Regional Municipality

On October 15, 2016, Mike Savage was elected Mayor of Halifax Regional Municipality for a second term based on a platform of sustained progress in making the Halifax region a place where residents can live, belong and thrive.

Mayor Savage was first elected on October 20, 2012, running on a platform to make Halifax the most liveable, entrepreneurial and inclusive city in the country; principles that continue to shape his work at City Hall and in the community.

Active member of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities Big City Mayors’ Caucus, Mike Savage is also a strong voice in support of local economic development, immigration, social equity, and infrastructure investment.

In October 2015, he was selected by his counterparts from across the country to co-chair the Federation of Canadian Municipalities’ Syrian refugee response task force. The role allowed him to draw on his long political experience to help draw cities together to share best practices in response to the Syrian refugee and resettlement.

Prior to his election as Mayor, Mr Savage served as Member of Parliament for Dartmouth-Cole Harbour from 2004 until 2011, during which time he played a national role as Official Opposition Critic for Human Resources, Social Development and Status of Persons with Disabilities.



REGISTRATION

From 7:30 am – 5:00 pm on March 21, 22 or 23.


PLENARY SESSIONS




Plenary 1: Thursday, March 21, 9:00 am - 10:30 am

The Role of Cities in Attracting and Settling Newcomers 

Immigration has largely been a policy consideration at the national level. In Canada, it has increasingly been a responsibility shared by provinces. However, it is at the community level that newcomers are physically welcomed and integrated. As urbanization rates continue to increase globally, cities play a more and more important role on the frontline of the settlement process. Plenary speakers will offer insights on the role played by cities in immigration. The opportunities and barriers faced by cities in working with immigrants, refugees, and other newcomers will also be considered. 

• Session Chair/Moderator: Professor Howard Ramos, Dalhousie University

• Mike Savage, Mayor of Halifax, Nova Scotia

• Dawn Arnold, Mayor of Moncton, New Brunswick

Véronique Lamontagne, International Relations Advisor, International Relations Office, City of Montreal 

• Professor Michael Haan, Western University, London, Ontario 


Plenary 2: Thursday, March 21, 10:45 am – 12:15 pm

Refugees and Asylum Seekers in North America: Policies, Practices and Partnerships

This plenary will identify and discuss the major challenges North America currently faces with regard to refugees and asylum seekers. Plenary speakers will look at how and why certain policies and practices have evolved in the continent in recent years. Panelists will look at the role the countries of the region play on the international stage around the admission of refugees. Speakers will suggest measures needed to enhance cooperation between countries when it comes to issues relating to refugees and asylum seekers, and/or propose policies that might ameliorate the conditions giving rise to ongoing refugee flows.

• Session Co-Chairs/Moderators: The Hon. Marlene Jennings, P.C., LLb., Montreal, Quebec / Adam Hunter, U.S. Chair, Metropolis North America and Migration Policy and Strategy Consultant, Washington, D.C.

• Anne Richard, Institute for the Study of International Migration, Georgetown University, Assistant Secretary of State for Population, Refugees and Migration in the Obama Administration (2012-2017),  Washington, DC, USA 

• Agustin Escobar Latapi, Director General, Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social, Mexico City, Mexico  

• Dr. Julia Gelatt, Senior Policy Analyst, Migration Policy Institute, Washington, DC, USA

• Professor François Crépeau, Director, Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism, Hans & Tamar Oppenheimer Chair in Public International Law, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec



Plenary 3: Friday, March 22, 9:00 am - 10:30 am

Shaping the story of Refugees and Immigrants in the News

Over the last decade, immigration has becoming increasingly politicized and the media has played a front and centre role in shaping the story of newcomers and their experiences in Canada. This plenary engages journalists, academics and service providers who work in the field and/or cover newcomer issues in the news. Plenary speakers will reflect on the shifts in popular discourse around asylum seekers, refugees, and openness to immigrants. Speakers will analyze the conflicting perceptions and misconceptions in today’s shifting political climates.

• Session Chair/Moderator: Celine Cooper, Concordia University / former columnist with the Montreal Gazette, Montreal, Quebec

• Louisa Taylor, Director, Refugee 613, Ottawa, Ontario

• Michael Tutton, The Canadian Press, Halifax, Nova Scotia

• Professor Kelly Toughill, Polestar Immigration Research, University of King's College, former journalist and deputy executive editor of The Toronto Star / past director of Canadian Journalists for Free Expression and a current director of the Gordon Sinclair Foundation, Halifax, Nova Scotia

• Madeline Ziniak, Chair, Canadian Ethnic Media Association / Chair, Ontario Canadian Broadcast Standards Council / Former Broadcast Executive, Toronto, Ontario



Plenary 4: Saturday, March 23, 9:00 am - 10:30 am

Immigration on the Margins

While an overwhelming majority of immigrants land in Canada’s three major cities, our country’s secondary cities and regions are experiencing population declines because of low birth rates, out-migration, and difficulty in attracting newcomers. This plenary examines immigration issues in secondary regions, looking at the Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program and other innovative measures to attract immigrants to communities outside of the biggest metropoles. Panelists will offer perspectives on new programs, demographics, and experiences from the government, academic and service providing sectors.

• Session Chair/Moderator, Dr. Harjeet Bhabra, Dean of the Sobey School of Business, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, Nova Scotia

• Professor Barry Edmonston, University of Victoria, Victoria, British Columbia

• Ken Walsh, Association for New Canadians, Corner Brook, Newfoundland

• Cathy Woodbeck , Executive Director, Thunder Bay Multicultural Association, Thunder Bay, Ontario

Lara Dyer, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, Ottawa, Ontario and Shelley Bent, Nova Scotia Office of Immigration






In addition to the four plenary sessions, the conference will feature over 140 workshop, panel, round table and poster sessions to be posted February 1, 2019. Note that this year the conference will run from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm on all three days.


Join our mailing list

Metropolis

21e Congrès National Metropolis

L'immigration autrement

21 au 23 Mars 2019

Centre des congrès d'Halifax

Halifax
L'immigration autrement
Information

informations sur le 21e congrès METROPOLIS CANADA


l'immigration autrement


21-23 MARS 2019


Centre de Congrès d'Halifax
1650, rue Argyle, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse







Co-présidents du congrès



Jennifer Watts, 
Présidente et Directrice générale, Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia (ISANS), Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse


Professeur Howard Ramos, 
Département de sociologie et d'anthropologie sociale / Vice-doyen à la recherche, Faculté des lettres et sciences sociales, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse



8h30 - 9h00 : Mot de bienvenue



L'Honorable Lena Metlege Diab, 
Q.C., ECNS, Ministre de l'Immigration, ministre des Affaires acadiennes et de la Francophonie, Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse


Élue pour la première fois à l'Assemblée provinciale en 2013, représentant la circonscription d'Halifax Armdale, Madame Diab est nommée au Conseil exécutif de la Nouvelle-Écosse en tant que première procureure générale et ministre de la Justice ainsi que ministre de l'Immigration. En juillet 2015, le portefeuille de l'immigration devient son poste exclusif au Cabinet. Réélue à l'Assemblée législative le 30 mai 2017, elle est nommée ministre de l'Immigration et ministre des Affaires acadiennes et de la Francophonie.

Lena Diab a à cœur de faire de la Nouvelle-Écosse une province plus diversifiée et plus accueillante.  Sous sa direction, la province a accueilli un plus grand nombre d'immigrants, a renforcé son programme d'immigration et a établi des réseaux mondiaux.

Elle est la fille d'immigrants libanais au Canada et l'aînée de six enfants. Née en Nouvelle-Écosse, elle est élevée au Liban (où elle a vécu 8 ans), puis revient à Halifax, à l'âge de 11 ans pour échapper à la guerre civile.

Avant de se lancer en politique, elle a mené une carrière juridique diversifiée pendant plus de 20 ans. Son parcours scolaire comprend un baccalauréat ès arts en économie et en sciences politiques, une maîtrise en administration publique et un diplôme en droit. En 2018, elle est désignée Conseillère de la Reine, une nomination attribuée aux membres de la profession juridique afin de reconnaître leur mérite exceptionnel et leurs contributions exceptionnelles dans leur domaine.

Mme Diab a reçu de nombreux honneurs et distinctions, notamment: le prix de la Chambre de commerce libanaise en Nouvelle-Écosse, la prestigieuse médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II, le prix Progress Women of Excellence et le prix du Conseil canadien des ambassadeurs de la Ligue arabe.


Mike Savage, 
Maire de la municipalité régionale d'Halifax


Le maire Savage a été élu pour la première fois en octobre 2012, avec un programme visant à faire de Halifax la ville la plus vivante, la plus entrepreneuriale et la plus inclusive du pays - principes qui continuent de façonner son travail à la mairie et dans la communauté.
Mike Savage a été élu maire de la municipalité régionale d'Halifax en octobre 2016 pour un deuxième mandat fondé sur son programme en progrès constant qui vise à faire de la région d'Halifax un lieu où les résidents peuvent vivre, appartenir et s'épanouir.

Membre actif du caucus des maires des grandes villes de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités, Mike Savage est également une voix forte en faveur du développement économique local, de l’immigration, de l’équité sociale et des investissements dans les infrastructures.

En octobre 2015, il a été choisi par ses homologues dans tout le pays pour coprésider le groupe de travail sur l’intervention des réfugiés syriens de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités. 

Ce rôle lui a permis de tirer parti de sa longue expérience politique pour aider les villes à partager leurs meilleures pratiques en ce qui concerne les réfugiés syriens et leur réinstallation.

Avant d'être élu maire, M. Savage a été député de Dartmouth-Cole Harbour de 2004 à 2011, années durant lesquelles il a joué un rôle national en tant que porte-parole de l'opposition officielle en matière de ressources humaines, de développement social et de condition des personnes handicapées.


InscripTION

De 7h15 à 17h00 les 21, 22 ou 23 mars.


Sessions plénières



Plénière 1 : Jeudi 21 mars, 9h00 - 10h30


Le rôle des villes dans l'attrait et dans l'établissement des nouveaux arrivants

Les politiques sur l'immigration relèvent en grande partie du niveau national. Au Canada, cette responsabilité est partagée de plus en plus par les provinces. Pourtant, c'est au sein de communautés spécifiques que les nouveaux arrivants s'établissent et, dans un monde de plus en plus urbanisé, les villes ont un rôle de premier plan à jouer dans le processus d'établissement. Les conférenciers de cette plénière présenteront des réflexions sur le rôle que jouent les villes dans l'immigration, ainsi que sur les opportunités et les obstacles auxquels elles se heurtent lorsqu'elles travaillent avec des immigrants, des réfugiés et d'autres nouveaux arrivants.

Présidente de séance / Modératrice : Professor Howard Ramos, Dalhousie University

Mike Savage, Maire de Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Dawn Arnold, Maire de Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick

Aïcha Bassal, Membre du Conseil métropolitain de Nantes Métropole, Adjointe au maire de la ville de Nantes, France

Professeur Michael Haan, Western University, London, Ontario


Plénière 2 : Jeudi 21 mars, 10h45 - 12h15


Réfugiés et demandeurs d'asile en Amérique du Nord et en Europe : politiques, pratiques et partenariat

Cette séance plénière identifiera et abordera les principaux défis auxquels font face l’Amérique du Nord et l’Europe en ce qui concerne les réfugiés et les demandeurs d'asile. Les conférenciers de cette plénière examineront comment et pourquoi les politiques et les pratiques ont évolué sur ces deux continents au cours des dernières années. Les intervenants étudieront le rôle que les deux régions jouent sur la scène internationale en ce qui concerne l'admission des réfugiés. Les conférenciers proposeront des mesures nécessaires pour renforcer la coopération entre les pays en matière de réfugiés et de demandeurs d’asile et/ou suggéreront des politiques susceptibles d’améliorer les conditions donnant lieu à l’afflux actuel de réfugiés.

Présidents de séance / Modérateurs : L’Honorable Marlene Jennings, P.C., LLb, Montréal, Quebec / Adam Hunter, Président du comité États-Unis, Metropolis Amérique du Nord, et consultant en politiques et stratégies migratoires, Washington DC

Anne Richard, Institute for the Study of International Migration, Georgetown University, Secrétaire d'État adjoint chargé de la population, des réfugiés et des migrations dans l'administration d’Obama (2012-2017), Washington, DC, États-Unis (invité)

Agustin Escobar Latapi, Directeur général, Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social, Mexico, Mexique

• Dr. Julia Gelatt, Analyste principale des politiques, Migration Policy Institute, Washington, DC, États-Unis

Professeur François Crépeau, Directeur, Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism Hans & Tamar Oppenheimer Chair in Public International Law, McGill University, Montréal, Québec


Plénière 3 : Vendredi 22 mars, 9h00 - 10h30


Façonner l'histoire des réfugiés et des immigrants dans l'actualité

Au cours de la dernière décennie, l'immigration est devenue de plus en plus politisée et les médias ont joué un rôle de premier plan dans le façonnement de l'histoire des nouveaux arrivants et de leurs expériences au Canada. Ce groupe de discussion réunit des journalistes, des universitaires et des fournisseurs de services travaillant dans le domaine ou qui traitent des questions relatives aux nouveaux arrivants dans l'actualité. La plénière se penchera sur l'évolution du discours populaire sur les demandeurs d'asile, les réfugiés et l'ouverture aux immigrants. Les conférenciers offriront une analyse critique des perceptions et des conceptions erronées dans les climats politiques en mutation.

Présidente de séance / Modératrice : Celine Cooper, Concordia University, ancienne chroniqueuse pour Montreal Gazette

Louisa Taylor, Directrice, Refugee 613, Ottawa, Ontario

Mike Tutton, The Canadian Press, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Professeure Kelly Toughill, Polestar Immigration Research, University of King's College, ancienne journaliste et rédactrice en chef adjointe de The Toronto Star, ancienne directrice de Canadian Journalists for Free Expression et actuelle directrice de la Gordon Sinclair Foundation, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Madeline Ziniak, Dirigeante principale de la radiodiffusion, spécialiste des médias ethniques, présidente, Association canadienne des médias ethniques, directeur, Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision, présidente, Madeline Ziniak Communications Inc.


Plénière 4 : Samedi 23 mars, 9h00 - 10h30


Immigration en marge

La grande majorité des immigrants arrivent dans les trois grandes villes du Canada, cependant les villes et régions secondaires sont touchées par un important déclin démographique causé par un faible taux de natalité, l’émigration et la difficulté à attirer de nouveaux arrivants. Au cours de cette plénière, les enjeux d’immigration dans les régions secondaires seront examinés, ainsi que le Programme pilote d’immigration au Canada atlantique et une autre mesure novatrice visant à attirer les immigrants dans des communautés situées hors des grandes métropoles. Les panélistes présenteront leurs points de vue sur les nouveaux programmes, la démographie et les expériences des secteurs gouvernementaux, universitaires et de prestation de services.

Président de séance / modérateur : Dr. Harjeet Bhabra, Doyen de la Sobey School of Business, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Professeur Barry Edmonston, University of Victoria, Victoria, Colombie-Britannique

Ken Walsh, Association for New Canadians, Corner Brook, Terre-Neuve

Cathy Woodbeck , Directrice exécutive, Thunder Bay Multicultural Association, Thunder Bay, Ontario

Lara Dyer, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada, Ottawa, Ontario et Shelley Bent, Office de l’immigration de la Nouvelle-Écosse



En plus des quatre séances plénières, le congrès sera constitué de plus de 140 ateliers, panels, tables rondes et présentations par affiches qui seront publiés le 1er février 2019. Veuillez noter que cette année le congrès se déroulera de 9h à 17h durant les trois jours.


Inscrivez-vous à notre bulletin d'information